September 23, 2023

FAQs about DUI in Honolulu: Check these answers

Drunk driving has severe consequences in Hawaii. For a first-offense DUI, you would have to deal with one-year license revocation along with a 14-hour rehabilitation program. In addition to these, you could be asked to pay fines, complete 72 hours of community service, or even spend five days in jail. Expectedly, this is a charge you shouldn’t be taken lightly. After being arrested for a DUI in Honolulu, people usually have many questions on their minds, and in this post, we have answered a few essential FAQs. 

What is a DUI charge in Hawaii?

If you are found driving a vehicle under the influence, and your blood alcohol content (BAC) level is at .08% or higher, you could be charged with DUI. A police officer may ask you to take a breathalyzer test, or you may even have to go for blood and urine tests. It is common for the police to ask a suspect to go for a field sobriety test. 

Do I need to engage an attorney?

Ideally, yes. Immediately after your arrest, the police officer will issue a driver’s license revocation, which obviously is not good news. An attorney can help defend your case, and the sooner you hire a lawyer, the better. Lawyers will work to gather evidence, find witnesses who were present at the scene, and will also be your counsel for the administrative hearing. 

My driver’s license is now revoked. What should I do next?

You have to file a petition and request a hearing, and this should be in time. If you fail to do so, your driving privileges will be compromised. The arresting officer will usually issue a “Notice of Administrative Revocation,” which will work as your temporary permit for driving and is valid for the next 30 days. If you fail to act, your driver’s license will be revoked for up to a year. 

Do I need to take a breath or a chemical test?

You can choose to refuse the breath or chemical test, but it is not the smartest thing to do as you could be facing penalties. While chemical tests are often inaccurate, it still makes sense to listen to whatever the law enforcement officer says. The eventual outcome could result in license revocation for up to two years, even when this is your first DUI offense. 

Don’t let a DUI charge ruin your life and prospects – Call an attorney today and discuss all the relevant aspects in detail.